Post Workout Nutrition

Good Morning!

Breakfast this morning was out of this world delicious!  I usually don’t make my oats on the stovetop, but I’m glad I did today! :)

I used Unsweetened Almond Milk instead of water- this made them extra creamy!

The banana and raisins added a natural sweetness and the peanut butter added a salty touch.

The perfect combination of Salty & Sweet!

Moving on, let’s talk about what to eat after a workout:

POST WORKOUT NUTRITION:

A common question I hear all the time is what to eat after a workout.

Proper post workout nutrition is important for everyone, whether you are trying to lose, gain or maintain.

After a workout your muscles are torn and glycogen levels (the storage form of carbohydrates)are depleted.

Studies show that post-workout carbohydrates are 125% more likely to be stored as glycogen than fat than any other time of day.

Post-workout is also the best time for protein synthesis (the building of new muscle).

Why not take advantage of this optimal time and give your body what it wants and needs?!

So, what kind of protein and carbohydrates to consume post-workout?  I suggest having a post-workout shake- the liquid will absorb faster.

Also, you need to have this shake within 30 minutes of finishing your workout.  If you have a long drive home from the gym- bring your shake with you and just add water!

source

Carbohydrates:

After training, you want the fastest acting carbohydrates as possible.  You want to consume carbohydrates that are high on the glycemic index to rapidly replenish blood sugar levels and insulin.

Dextrose (yes, you read that correctly) is one of the best sources of quick carbohydrates you can have after a workout.  So you mean it’s okay to eat sugar? Yes-This is the only time of day when it is actually beneficial to have sugar.

Some other good options would be Gatorade, Rice Cakes and Fruit.  If you choose to eat fruit post-workout, make sure it is a fruit high in glucose and not fructose.  Some good choices would be bananas and cherries.

Protein:

It’s not surprising that it takes protein to build muscle.  After a workout you want a quick absorbing protein like Whey.  Choose a good Whey Protein source like Optimum Nutrition to have in your post-workout shake.

So what about Healthy Fats you ask?  Eating foods high in fat post-workout will reduce the effectiveness of your shake by slowing down the absorption of the protein and simple carbohydrates.  This is the one time of day to avoid those healthy fats!

Then what?

Gets lost of sleep and watch your muscles grow! :)

QUESTIONS:

Do you usually use water or milk in your oats?

Are you getting the proper nutrition after a workout?

Source

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lovemintchocolatechip
    Feb 28, 2012 @ 22:36:13

    This was a great post!!

    I use water and almond milk in my oats… I actually tried egg whites for the first time this morning and loved it (added protein, check!). PB and banana oats are my favorite :)

    Sometimes after a workout I am just not hungry so I wait to long to eat. I KNOW this is not good and I try to make an effort not to do this because then I just end up ravenous a few hours later.

    Thanks again for sharing all of this :) Happy Tuesday!

    Reply

    • myhealthyaddictions
      Feb 28, 2012 @ 22:44:56

      I’ve heard of the egg whites in the oats, but I havn’t tried it yet. If I’m going to use egg whites I usuallu just make it into some pancakes! :)
      Yes- make sure you are eating after your workouts!

      Reply

  2. readytogetsweaty
    Feb 29, 2012 @ 19:57:33

    What is your go to post-workout smoothie? I’m always looking for new ones to try…

    Reply

    • myhealthyaddictions
      Feb 29, 2012 @ 20:41:46

      I like to use unsweetend almond milk, dextrose, protein poweder and a banana! I love bananas in smoothies! I wish I had chocolate protein cause choc banana would be even better or chocolate almond milk too! :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

